Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-01-2011, 09:07 AM   #1
Inactive Account

My recent lens purchase

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Ok have a new k-r camera and recently purchased this used lens on the net. Super-Takumar (Pentax ) 28mm 1:3.5 Lens w/case and caps, M42 mount.

I heard that these old lens can be good. I cannot figure out if I need to get a adaptor for it. I believe I have to, and have not yet attempted to install on camera.

There is a long pin sticking out on the back. O ya I am new to photography so not yet down with all the tech names or description. If you need a picture I can take picture and repost.

So if I need a adaptor what do I ask for? A pentax adaptor or did I go with offbrand name one and how much can I expect to pay. Plus will the camera store guy know what I am talking about if I give description over the phone and said store is a pentax dealer?

11-01-2011, 09:16 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You need the pentax K to m42 adapter. Everyone says the genuine pentax is the best and is priced at $30.00 U.S.

http://www.pentaxwebstore.com/product/9384

This is the one though you don't have to buy it from the webstore. I'm not sure about the webstore since the ricoh switch? There are things listed on backorder that weren't available before so I don't know if it will really ship in 10 days like it says, from them.
11-01-2011, 09:27 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
The genuine ones are hard to come by. I ordered one from Pentax and they eventually cancelled my order after 4 months of waiting. You can buy a genuine one on ebay for about $50. Or just but the generic, it works fine, it's just a bit more involved taking off.