Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-02-2011, 08:02 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Low-cost Sigma Lenses: Stay away? Or go ahead?

I'm about to buy a Pentax K-r or K-x, and have been thinking about going body only, because I can find better deals, and buying lenses separately. That said, I'm wondering if any of the affordable (less than around $160) Sigma lenses on this site are worth the money? Photo 4 Less - Professional Photography Equipment, SLR Cameras, Lenses, Flashes

Most of them don't seem to be in the review database on this site (except the 70-300mm Macro), so I'm wondering if these would be a waste of money or if they're decent for the price? I don't want 'crap,' but I'm a graduate student right now and it simply doesn't make sense for me to buy a $500 lens right now.

That being said, I plan on buying a used, manual 50 or 55mm fast prime to play with, but also need something with quite a bit of reach for the track days and autocross events I photograph, and also something decent with AF for pet/people/everyday shooting. I really like playing with wide-angle shots and would like to start shooting macro, from what I've seen these lenses are more expensive and this is a low priority for me at the moment.

So, would any of these lenses be reasonable, given my limited budget and that I only shoot for fun? Or is there something else affordable that's a better bet that I'm missing? Or am I not allowed to shoot with a DSLR if I don't want to spend a whole paycheck on each lens?

11-02-2011, 08:30 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
All the lenses are in our DBs- you can browse around here: Sigma Lenses for Pentax: Current Zoom Lenses - Pentax Lens Review Database

That page looks like it just a listing of all their sigma equipment - you should definitely have a look at the zoom list above.

Here are a few lenses that have received a lot of praise: