Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-16-2007, 11:48 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
18-250 and set mm lens is there a big differance.

Hi all Im new to taking picture ,I got my k10d to take pictures of teeth.Im a dental lab tech.But I have been taking a lot of picture out side the dental office .I don't know what the big deal is about the 14mm,20mm 50mm ect . that don't adjust. Is the pictures that much better than the 18-250 . I don't plan on selling anything I take a picture of .Im just finding out I like taking pictures. I love my k10d I got it last Christmas and I still don't know every thing about it . My wife is going to get me the af540 fgz flash this Christmas, thanks to people In this forum helping me deside on that one. I guess what I want to know will I be able to tell the differance in the pictures from the 18-250 and the single mm lens thanks for your help,Steve

12-16-2007, 12:11 PM   #2
Forum Member

You're talking about the difference between a prime and an ultra zoom, so, yes you'd probably be able to tell. Usually primes are sharper, faster (better for low light/portraits) and smaller. As a trade off you lose the flexibility of a focal length range.
12-16-2007, 12:38 PM   #3

Original Poster
thanks for that wengler ,does it make a differance in how the picture turns out if I get lens that are no a big range instead of 18-250 should I get something like 16-20 mm 21-40 mm lens like that . Can you or anyone out there take a picture with the lens of the 18-250mm set at say fiftymm and take the same picture with a fifty mm prime and point out the differances to me so I can see what the big deal is . Thanks again for your help, Steve

Last edited by pentaxk10duser; 12-16-2007 at 12:52 PM.
12-16-2007, 12:40 PM   #4
Inactive Account

Hi pentaxk10duser

Before doing anything else, I'd seriously suggest you check out the relevant information discussed in these previous posts: