Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-19-2011, 08:01 AM   #1
Forum Member

Da 10-17mm Pentax vs. Other Brands

I am NOT a techie and get lost in technical discussions about such matters as chromatic aberrations. I would like to purchase a wider angle lens for my K5. I can't locate a more detailed review of this lens other than a brief description from DPREVIEW. However, I did find a review for a similar Tamron lens 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5 and from what I gathered, the reviewer fell short of giving it praise. It mentioned a problem with sharpness when used wide open. This lens would be more convenient for me to buy as I can purchase it locally for about $50 less than mail order for the Pentax DA lens.

Perhaps this is a silly question to be asking in a dedicated Pentax forum...

Is the Pentax lens far superior to the Tamron? I really can't afford a fisheye or super wide angle lens at this time and the price of either of these lenses pretty much is my limit at this time.

I'd appreciate some feedback.

11-19-2011, 09:03 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It's hard to compare the DA 10-17 with the Tamron because, even though they are both, in a sense, ultra-wide angle zoom lenses, the Pentax is a fisheye and the Tamron isn't. Don't let the similar focal ranges confuse you. At 10mm, the Pentax is a very different lens from the Tamron. At the wide end of the zoom, the Pentax has a 180 field of view, compared to about 108 for the Tamron. The Pentax is able to achieve it's ultra wide FOV through it's extreme, fisheye-type distortions.