Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-21-2011, 02:30 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
help with my lens

Hi to all

I'm a total beginner and would like to ask anyone with the knowledge

Wanted to ask I'm interested in macro photography and i have an Manual Sigma Zoom 18mm 200mm macro lens. When going to the store all they seem to want to do is for me to spend more money on a lens and not giving me any alternative ways round it, do you think i could use some extension tube's onto this lens. I'm a complete novice to SLR'S

I've just bought my new Pentax k-5. plus kit. I totally love it.

They have told me that the sigma lens is in great condition but suggested i go and spend another 500 on one of there lenses i don't have that budget at the moment as i have to go in for a major op this Thursday on my back,

Any help would be much appreciated..
Thanks

11-21-2011, 02:50 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Is that this lens? Anyway, stores always want you to buy stuff. What macro subjects do you like shooting? Figure out what magnification you're after, and what working distance (distance from front of lens to subject) is workable for those subjects. Read RioRico's amazing article on cheap macro options. Have a look in the forum marketplace to see if there's a lower-cost dedicated macro lens that would suit you -- you don't really need or even want autofocus for true macro work, so an older manual-focus lens might do the trick.
11-21-2011, 03:07 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thanks
I would like to take photo's of insects with this lens
if its possible, I was surprised when i went to the store as most of them where professional photographers And didn't give me any suggestions. Do you think the lens i have is a good one it has no scratches or fungus on it at all ( 72m Sigma Zoom 1;4 -56 f=28 - 200mm multi coated lens ) and can i put extension tubes on it ...
11-21-2011, 03:09 PM   #4
Inactive Account