Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-30-2011, 02:59 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Sigma 28mm for Pentax K doesn't fit

Hi guys, I need help I got this on ebay eBay - New & used electronics, cars, apparel, collectibles, sporting goods & more at low prices and the thing won't fit my k-r. I was under the impression that pentax didn't/haven't change it's lens mount since like in forever. Do I need to do something special here? or is this a total newbie fail on my part.

11-30-2011, 03:14 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It "looks like" it should but I know there are some Sigma or other non-Pentax older lenses to that do not follow the K-mount spec exactly and can get stuck on or break a newer body if forced.
11-30-2011, 03:15 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

I've updated your thread title to something a bit more relevant

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

11-30-2011, 03:29 PM   #4
Pentaxian

I don't have that particular lens, but I do have a third-party K-mount lens that wouldn't fit at first, so I have a suggestion.

Sticking out from the back of the lens is a flange that protects the aperture lever. It looks like a rigid shark-fin protruding from the back of the lens next to the moving lever. On some lenses, that's either too wide or too long, and it interferes with the SDM/power zoom contacts inside the camera body (which didn't exist yet when these lenses were made).