Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-30-2011, 04:29 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Problem with (not cheap) eBay lens, what should I do?

Hi everyone, I recently received what should be a spectacular Zeiss lens from Eastern Europe but it turns out to have problems...

The lens is a CZJ Sonnar 200/2.8 in excellent apparent condition, super clean inside and out. However, it looks like a previous owner has taken it apart to clean the elements and completely screwed up the adjustment. Test pics don't have the sharpness I've seen from other samples and the lens barrel won't rotate to infinity.

I'm definitely keeping the lens and I have a local lens guy who is rebuilding it for $70 (which I think is a great deal). The question is: should I ask the seller to refund some of the repair cost? Is that likely to do any good?

I'm relatively new to the LBA game, so any advice you can give is much appreciated.

Thanks!
-Steve

11-30-2011, 04:36 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I would definately ask for something back to compensate for repair costs. Also some ebay purchases are covered under their buyer protection so if the seller does not cooperate then you can go through ebay and see what they can do. I would be really upset if I got a lens that was described differently than it actually functions, especially with the one you have there it sounds like it would be relatively expensive.
11-30-2011, 05:01 PM   #3

Photos: Gallery