Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
12-03-2011, 07:06 AM   #1
Forum Member

Feedback on a "Normal" Lens, Please

I am fairly new to DSLR photography, though I have been using decent point-n-shoots for years. However, I am not a techie and am baffled by the various features with different lenses, i.e. a slower lens can cost considerably more, etc. I realize I lack understanding of the technology, and quite frankly I am not as concerned with that as I am with creating nice photos. Low tech here.

I am looking for a 'normal' lens for my K5. Money IS an issue but if the quality is THAT much better, I would consider spending a bit more. I'm looking roughly in the 28-35mm range. I do some street work, also walk-around nature, and low light would be a consideration.

I'm researching four lenses.

1) Pentax DA 35 L f/2.4 AL
2) Pentax SMCP DA 35 f/2.8 Macro Ltd (quite a bit of price difference between these two!)
3) Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC Auto Focus
4) Sigma 28mm f/1.8 Ex Aspherical DG DF Macro.

Having macro capabilities would be nice.

However, I'm trying to balance value and cost. I guess a question here is can I get 'decent' photos with the cheap plastic DA 35 f/2.4? Do I need a magnifying glass to see the difference between this and the other lenses? Is this lens significantly lower photo quality than the other three (I'm lumping them together because they're all more than 2X as expensive)?

How do the other three compare? Which is the best value for what I would be buying? I have one prime lens, the FA50 1.4 (and I'm still trying to figure out how to use it in aperture priority, but I have a question on that in another thread.)

If I can figure this all out, using various lenses on my K5, perhaps I should also bring in manual focus lenses into my self-discussion. (If you think this thread is a bit diffused and confusing, you have no idea what's going on inside my head.)