Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-08-2011, 09:49 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Good Zoom or Macro Prime?

Hello. This is my first post here, so please be gentle.

Sometime in January I'm getting a small bit of unexpected money, and have decided to put some of it towards enlarging my camera kit. I can afford one lens (I'm also replacing my hand-me-down tripod, and getting a decent flash), but I really can't decide what I really want. Right now I'm conflicted between getting a 17-50mm 2.8 (either the Tamron or Sigma) to replace my stock 18-55 DA L, or getting the FA 100mm f/2.8 Macro.

I'm a novice, I've only been shooting for around a year, so I still haven't quite found what niche I prefer. I currently own the stock 18-55, a DA 55-300, the DA 35 2.4, an old Pentax-A 50 1.7, and two old garage sale 70-200 manual lenses (a QTII and an eight bladed Vivitar). I also own a Raynox 150 that I stick on the 55-300. My shooting seems to be pretty much split between the two primes, and trying to get decent macro shots with the Raynox. Though I learned that the stock lens is the most versatile for vacations and such, it pretty much just stays in the bag.

The Raynox has become the bane of my existence, since trying to focus at 3 feet with a 3mm DOF is not very fun, especially without the benefit of a tripod. Would the 100 2.8 make my life easier? How close in can it focus, and is its DOF at least manageable? My last outing with the Raynox got me over 170 photos, with a mere 10 keepers. Added to this my neighbors got to hear, at times, exactly how colorful and nuanced my vocabulary can be when I try. Could the 100 also double as a decent "walk-about" lens? Is there a better solution (that isn't terribly technical, or non-newbie-friendly) to my macro problem? What, anyways, is a good Macro lens?