Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-15-2011, 09:38 AM   #1

Rookie needs help choosing lenses!

I am completely new to photography and after extensive research decided to purchase the Pentax K-5 for my first camera. I plan on using it for travel first and foremost with a focus on landscapes/nature and of course for all other forms travel photography so my question is this. What lenses do I need? I have decided on the 12mm-24mm lens for landscape but I don't know what I should get for the rest. Help!

12-15-2011, 09:41 AM   #2

Original Poster
Forgot to mention I want good enough quality to make poster prints.
12-15-2011, 09:45 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Do you shoot wildlife (small animals, birds, etc)?
If so, look into a good long range lens (cheap: DA 55-300. expensive: Tamron 70-200. Expensive but smaller than the Tamron: DA 300)

Do you shoot portrait (people, street photography, anything within 10 feet of you)?
If so, look into either a short range zoom like the 24-70 2.8/Tamron 28-75 2.8, or a simple 35mm or 50mm prime.

As far as I can see, that should be pretty much it since you have the 12-24 for landscape and architecture.
12-15-2011, 09:46 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by pathfinder99 Quote
I am completely new to photography and after extensive research decided to purchase the Pentax K-5 for my first camera. I plan on using it for travel first and foremost with a focus on landscapes/nature and of course for all other forms travel photography so my question is this. What lenses do I need? I have decided on the 12mm-24mm lens for landscape but I don't know what I should get for the rest. Help!
There are lot's of alternatives.

For travel it would be tough to beat having an 18-135 WR with the K5. pretty much covers all needed FOV and with the K5 iso performance should even be passable in dimmer situations (though having a fast 50 in the bag is handy)