Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-26-2011, 07:15 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
problem with 50mm f1.7 reversed

This is my first time to shoot macro so bare with me...

here's my current setup:

Pentax k-x w/ 50mm-M f1.7 reversed on some extension tube(cheap)... When i'm taking macro photos, i noticed that there was a white fuzzy circle on my pics =( with flash or w/out..the strange thing is that when i'm using my 50mm f1.7 as a prime, there's no problem at all. Thanks for the help guys!

12-26-2011, 10:10 AM   #2
dms
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Flare from cheap tube(s). They are not properly blackened/baffled.
12-26-2011, 05:53 PM   #3

Original Poster
what do you mean by baffled? blackened? is that a sort of modification to my extension tubes? thanks
12-26-2011, 06:11 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Does it do that with just the lens reversed? If so then it's probably light on the rear element. You could fix that by removing the center of a rear lens cap and shooting with that in place. If it doesn't do it with just the lens then it's probably the extension tubes.

12-26-2011, 06:31 PM   #5
dms
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Better tubes/optics have the inside of the tube painted mat black and/or have baffles (e.g., pleated bellows). In your case no--it is not really a viable modification--just buy a better tube. (If it was an expensive telescope you could purchase felt or mat black paint and apply it.) If in doubt get the Pentax tubes.

Actually using the 50mm f1.7 lens and a Vivitar macro 2x teleconveter may be a lot more convenient and similar to the magnification you are getting--on a Pentax dslr (likely about 1:1.5 magnification [m=1.5] and auto, diaphragm).

For more information about these matters and macro in general I suggest reading Blaker "Field Photography" or Lefkowitz "The Manual of Close-Up Photography."
12-26-2011, 06:44 PM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums