Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-26-2011, 11:50 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
What should I get?

Hi everyone!
I finally saved some money, and now I'm thinking about getting a new walk-around lens. The thing is, I was almost decided to get a Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8, but I found out from the reviews that the Pentax 35mm f/2.4 is also a great lens. Now obviously, the Pentax one is not as versatile as the Tamron, but 35mm is wide enough for me. I usually use the wide focal length setting with my kit lens (18mm), but I have a Tokina 35-105mm and I never had a problem with it not being wide enough. But it's a manual lens and tbh MF and stop-down metering can be a lot of fun, but not for longer periods of time. I also have a Pentax-M 50mm f/1.7, so I've got that focal length covered. Back to the dilemma, the priorities for me are image quality, lens speed and of course money (I'm a student). Here the Tamron costs about $390 and the Pentax about $230, which is almost a half. I have never heard anything bad about the Pentax one, but with Tamron I heard there are some serious QC issues. I don't want to buy a lens finding it's got a front- or back-focus and sending it back, and I have absolutely no opportunity trying the lens before buying it here. So I was rather thinking about getting the Pentax 35mm f/2.4 and later buying something more wide. I'd be thankful for any helpful advice.

12-26-2011, 11:58 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
As far as QC goes you're usually safer with primes, because FF/BF can be corrected via a single adjustment. The Pentax 35mm is nice, and so its its image quality, but for a walkaround you might just be happier with the added flexibility of a zoom.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)