Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-27-2011, 04:59 PM   #1
Forum Member

What should I have in my bag for engagement photos..

Hey all,

Been an amateur photog for the past couple years, I ended up taking my wife and I's own engagement photos because we didnt like what our photographer came up with. Well I guess the photos I took of us turned out so well we have requests from about 8 couples now to do theirs as well. Its not a lot of pressure, as they are all friends and know I dont do this professionally, but it got me to thinking I could easily do this on the side as I'm a tech manager by trade, so the photoshopping and web design side of the business is cake for me.

Sooooo, with that said, I'm not sure what lenses I'm missing to round out a good engagement session. I currently have:

Pentax K-x
Sigma 70-300mm
Pentax 50mm 1.4 FA
Pentax 10-17 Fish
Pentax 18-50mm Kit lens

I have no flashes and Im thinking it might be a good idea to pick up a 16-45 or 16-50...

Anyone here have some good experience with this? I know I can definitely get by with the lenses I have and being creative, I'm just thinking I might be able to turn this into something more. Anyone have a suggestion for a good portrait flash that isnt too expensive?

Any help is mucho appreciado.

Here's one of my favs from shooting my own engagement pics:

12-27-2011, 05:10 PM   #2
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Very nice conceptual image. Well done.
The kit lens is the DA 18-55, and is mostly inadequate for effective portraiture.
The fast fifty you have should suffice, though.