Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-26-2007, 04:23 PM   #1

Is this a good pick-up?

pentax-m lens 135mm

I'm still new to the whole DSLR shooting, but I'd like a relatively inexpensive zoom lens.

pentax-m lens 135mm asahi opt. co. - (eBay item 230205242242 end time Dec-26-07 15:39:22 PST)

Was also looking at a Sigma 24-70mm 3.5 and a SMC PENTAX M 28 F2.8

Any feedback on these? I checked out some of the reviews but I'm always hesitant when it comes to buying anything

12-26-2007, 05:33 PM   #2
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by jcleary47 Quote
pentax-m lens 135mm

I'm still new to the whole DSLR shooting, but I'd like a relatively inexpensive zoom lens.

pentax-m lens 135mm asahi opt. co. - (eBay item 230205242242 end time Dec-26-07 15:39:22 PST)

The 135 isn't a zoom but rather a fixed tele. I see its sale has passed though.
12-26-2007, 05:35 PM   #3
Inactive Account

There were two versions of the M28/2.8 made. The first version has poor optical quality compared to the M28/3.5. The second version does not have a silver ring at the top typical to M series lenses. That version is identical to the A28/2.8. It has great optical quality. So, the only 28s you should be looking at are the M28/2.8 version 2, the M28/3.5, or the A28/2.8. All of these can be found on eBay. However, the first one is quite rare. There is actually a listing on eBay right now, but the buy it now is around $200.

What's your budget?
12-26-2007, 06:09 PM   #4

Original Poster
Looking to spend under $200 if possible

Really, what I'm looking to eventually get is a decent zoom, wide angle, and macro lens to help me get started.

I know I won't be able to get all 3 at once with my current $200 self imposed budget.

12-26-2007, 07:16 PM   #5
Inactive Account