Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-07-2012, 08:38 AM   #1
Inactive Account

sigma 10-20mm QC

Hey,
I am thinking about getting a sigma 10-20mm f4 but I believe sigma's quality control for this lens is poor. This may seem like a stupid question (I am a bit of a novice) but what actually tends to be wrong with certain copies? What should I look out for? Does the problem tend to be with AF, build or the actual glass?

Any reply greatly appreciated.

Cheers

01-07-2012, 08:58 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Sigma 10-20

This is a highly-respected lens. There is an entire section in the lens forum with hundreds of examples of just how good this lens is. I have it and I really enjoy using it. I particularly like taking photos of courthouses in my state, and sometimes you have to get pretty close to eliminate lots of unwanted stuff. While this is not the only use for a super wide angle, it certainly does a great job for me in this regard
01-07-2012, 09:01 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by oldjohn Quote
This is a highly-respected lens. There is an entire section in the lens forum with hundreds of examples of just how good this lens is. I have it and I really enjoy using it. I particularly like taking photos of courthouses in my state, and sometimes you have to get pretty close to eliminate lots of unwanted stuff. While this is not the only use for a super wide angle, it certainly does a great job for me in this regard
Thanks- I was looking also at a da21ltd but was put off by the lack of flexibility of a prime- I have heard that sigma has some problems with quality control- are you aware of this and do you know what to look out for?
Thank you very much for your reply
01-07-2012, 09:08 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Sigma 10-20