Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-09-2012, 06:17 AM   #1

Need tip on a good portrait lens

Hi

I am a bit new to photography but I am looking into getting a portrait lens for my Pentax K-X. What I need is a good lens to take pictures of people. It should work well both outside and indoors. I want a lens that can really capture peoples faces. I know that sounds kinda stupid..

Anyway, are there any recommended lenses out there for photographing people?

Thanks

01-09-2012, 06:27 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
All lenses can capture a face. All lenses can produce a good outcome. Is there any specific you are looking for?

DA*50-135 is a good start.
01-09-2012, 06:29 AM   #3
klh
Site Supporter

I'm sure you will get lots of suggestions. To narrow it down, how much do you want to spend, and is it just for face shots or do you want to do full body as well?

I use a Tamron 28-75/2.8 most of the time, but for really sharp face shots when I have time to focus, I use an M42 Takumar 85/1.8.
01-09-2012, 06:31 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Nico_ Quote
I want a lens that can really capture peoples faces. I know that sounds kinda stupid..
Not at all -- portraiture ranges from full body and "environmental" shots to tight closeups, and this calls for a range of focal lengths. So if you intend to mainly do the latter you may want to look at a longer FL, to allow you to get that tight shot without getting the camera right in the subject's face.