Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-15-2012, 09:25 AM   #1

Lenses for Pentax KX (35mm SLR)

I have recently inherited a Pentax KX along with three lenses; an SMC Pentax 55mm lens, an Avanar macro zoom multi coated 75-205mm lens with a Vivitar 62mm UV-HAZE (Which I assume is a filter), and a Vivitar 200mm auto telephoto lens.

I noticed that the Pentax lens fits and works perfectly, while the other two fit in the camera body but do not lock into place. I am very new to SLR photography, and I would really appreciate it if someone could explain to me which lenses I can use with this camera, and do they have to be Pentax lenses or can I use other brands?

Thanks

01-15-2012, 10:07 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Other brands can be used if they have the K-mount, like your Pentax lens has. I do not know these lenses so cannot help there.
01-15-2012, 10:23 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi Julia. Welcome to Pentax Forums. The KX and the SMC Pentax 55/1.8 are both excellent products and both are highly respected by the film users on this site. The Vivitar 200 is also a decent lens while the Avanar is a consumer zoom and may be fine or not so fine. Neither of the other two lenses will lock on the camera? Are you sure they are K-mount? The mount type should be stamped on the mount face or on the lens body. It should say Pentax-K, PK, PKA, or something similar.

In any case, I would be hesitant to mount either lens until you can confirm its compatibility.

As for the KX's general lens compatibility...It will work with any K-mount lens that has an aperture (f/stop) ring and any M42 screw mount lens (with adapter) that has a Manual/Auto switch on the side of the lens barrel. This includes lenses by Pentax, Ricoh, Cosina, Chinon, (and other camera makers) and almost all 3rd-party lens makers. The choices are huge.