Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-22-2012, 12:27 PM   #1
Forum Member

Wondering if my Lens is Defective

I have a K5 and recently replaced the kit lens with a SMC DA 18-135mm lens and I have one heck of a time getting things straight with this lens, straight in the sense of objects I'm photographing. I have been shooting digitally for about nine years and have never had this sort of problem before. Unless I am totally head on straight forward, I cannot get a straight lines. Everything parallel with that line is distorted. I'm talking about shooting at 50-70 meter area. I do realize that any wide angle lines will distort, but I have trouble with this lens throughout the full range. I also shoot a Lumix GH2 and have no problems of this kind with that camera.

Here is a photo I took today. It was from my car, so I would expect 'a little' curve, but I noticed that this has a convex affect at the curb. This is definitely more extreme than any other camera I have used as I am doing exactly the same kind of shooting with my K5 as with the others (11 decent point-n-shooters plus a Canon Rebel XTi.) I was having this same problem also with my 18-55mm kit lens. The problem seemed to arise suddenly.

Could it be my camera?

Here is the photo. Dancin' the Night Away | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

I realize this isn't extreme but I have issues taking just about each shot, never any with my Lumix GH2.

01-22-2012, 12:44 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
That's pincushion distortion.

Pentax SMC-DA 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 ED AL [IF] WR - Review / Lens Test - Analysis
01-22-2012, 12:52 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It looks perfectly normal for this lens to be honnest ! Its a superzoom.... it suffers from heavy pincushion distortion at the wide angle end and barrel distortion