Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-23-2006, 09:23 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Pentax FA 50mm question

Not sure if this belongs in the Help forum or here. So forgive me if I posted in the wrong area.
I need help with my 50mm lens. I am new to this whole DSLR thing. I just got the 50mm and have taken many photos with it. I really like the lens, however, my wife has been compaining that the photos seem fuzzy or out of focus. Now after I look at them they do seem a little soft, or as she says fuzzy. They just don't seem sharp. Would it help if I shot them in RAW?
Could this be a lens problems or operator error.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v227/SPCnut/annaandcrayons.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v227/SPCnut/annaandtree-1.jpg

12-23-2006, 09:30 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The help forum is only for issues with the site itself, so you're good

Shooting in RAW won't fix focus problems- it only helps with overall post-processing since you can edit settings such as brightness and contrast on an uncompressed image.

I'm willing to be that your camera didn't focus on the right spot in those pics- chances of the lens being defective are slim. Set your camera to spot focus and AF-S, then shoot some pics and post your findings Also, make sure you're not shooting in MF...

Hope this helps

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

12-23-2006, 09:44 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Large aperture, slow shutter speed; one at macro distance, one near, at or beyond far focus point. All from EXIF. Auto focus?