Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-29-2007, 10:30 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Help a fool part with his money.

I am looking to buy a new lens. I've had my K100D for a little over a year. While the kit lens has been fine I'd like a little more. I am looking to be able to reach out a bit more for birds and wild life while at the same time being able to do the insect flower thing. Just an all around general purpose lens that can take up where the kit lens leave off. I am not a pro. Heck, I'm barely an amature. No money is being made and I don't have the keen eye that most of you possess. I'm still in the early stages of learning.

Here is the problem. My budget is only $200 American and there is no chance of expanding.

The lenses I am considering are as follows:

1. Tamron 70-300mm 1:2 F/4-5.6 DI LD Macro FS=62 For Pentax AF - 139.99 @ Buydig.com

Tamron 70-300mm 1:2 F/4-5.6 DI LD Macro FS=62 For Pentax AF | BuyDig.com, The Internet's Digital Superstore

2. Tamron 75-300mm F/4-5.6 LD FS=62 AF For Pentax & Samsung SLR - 119.99 @ Buydig.com

Tamron 75-300mm F/4-5.6 LD FS=62 AF For Pentax & Samsung SLR With 6-Year USA Warranty | BuyDig.com, The Internet's Digital Superstore

3. Pentax smc P-FA 75-300mm f/4.5-5.8 AL (Black) - Telephoto Auto Focus Zoom Lens - 129.99 @ buydig.com It also has decent reviews in the lens database.

Pentax smc P-FA 75-300mm f/4.5-5.8 AL (Black) - Telephoto Auto Focus Zoom Lens | BuyDig.com, The Internet's Digital Superstore

Of the three which would you choose in my position or please tell me if I am barking up the wrong tree and need to be looking in a different direction?

I know that these are budget lenses, but for the foreseeable future that is what is in the cards. Also, at the cost of these I can afford to add a couple of filters. I am selling one toy to buy another otherwise it wouldn't be happening. I just feel so limited with the kit lens.

Thanks.