Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
01-24-2012, 07:17 PM   #1

Manual SLR lenses on D-SLR or Mirrorless

Since the rumor came out about the Pentax K-01 mirror-less with K-Mount, I've been really excited to jump to digital. Im still using my Pentax MX, but quality film processing is getting to expensive & inconvenient for me. I've always known that I would be purchasing a Pentax digital body, because I love my K-mount lenses. I'm just trying to make things less bulky when I'm in the photo mood. The K-5 is not the direction I want to go.

My main question is:

How will my manual lenses work on a digital K-mount camera, particularly a mirror-less design like the K-01. I've never used an autofocus SLR before, so I don't think I'll be missing that function. I'm concerned if photos wont come out properly because the camera cant acknowledge manual adjustments like an auto focus. Do they work fine immediately? Are certain adjustments needed to be made in the camera settings? Do the bodies need to be modified with different equipment(sensor, focusing screens, etc.)?

I have:
SMC Pentax-M 1.4 50mm
SMC Pentax-M 2.8 28mm
Asahi Takumar 2.5 135mm
Vivitar 2.8-4.0 70-210mm

01-24-2012, 07:31 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Yup they'll all work fine.

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-lens-articles/110657-how-use-meter...k-x-k-7-a.html
The Pentax Camera Lens Compatibility Chart

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
01-24-2012, 08:42 PM   #3
Veteran Member