Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
01-31-2012, 05:52 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
CA with 35mm limited

Hi - this is my first post to the forums, I'm a Pentax newbie...

I recently bought a K-5 and the 35mm limited after reading a lot about both, and
I am very happy with my decision... BUT, one of the oft-repeated positive comments
about this lens is its strong resistance to CA (`purple fringing', I assume). This includes
comments by one reviewer in the lens-review data base, who claimed he hadn't (yet)
been able to induce PF.

My question is this: since my copy of the lens seems to exhibit PF in all the usual
circumstances (without any particular effort on my part), e.g., back-lit branches, might
this mean that I have a flawed copy of the lens? Or are the `resistance to CA' comments
somewhat overly enthusiastic? In other words, how much PF is too much for the 35 limited?

I have about 10 days before my 30-day return window (to B&H) expires, and I wonder whether
I should exchange the lens...

Thanks for any and all input!

01-31-2012, 06:16 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by yorik Quote
My question is this: since my copy of the lens seems to exhibit PF in all the usual
circumstances (without any particular effort on my part), e.g., back-lit branches, might
this mean that I have a flawed copy of the lens? Or are the `resistance to CA' comments
somewhat overly enthusiastic? In other words, how much PF is too much for the 35 limited?
One of the MOST COMMON PF situations you will see is backlit branches, especially if the branches are gray - to give you an example, take a look at this pic -> https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/post-your-photos/173314-nature-barred-owl.html

So, to answer your question, no need to be alarmed - if shooting other things that are low contrast and you get the same results, then you got an issue somewhere.

Can you post some examples?