Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
02-05-2012, 07:39 AM   #1

Identical lens, different reflection color???!??!?

Hey guys I would need to poke your brain.

I've got 2 copy of Vivitar Macro Focusing Teleconverters, they are identical model.

When I put them side by side, under a hanging lamp on the dinning table, the color reflection are very different.

There are multiple reflection of the hanging lamp on each lens, but on one there is a purple color but on the other there is blue...

I tried a few angles and the behavior is consistent.... what gives??

Is one better than the other? which one?

02-05-2012, 08:02 AM   #2
Veteran Member

It's probably the angle that the light is striking the element. Set it up again, view the reflection and then move the right one into the left ones spot and see what happens.
02-05-2012, 09:11 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Not being an optics engineer I'm speaking out of place, but I suggest it may be due to variation in film thickness - something that could easily be a quality control issue..
02-05-2012, 09:14 AM   #4
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Or one could have a little oil or something on it. Give them both a good clean and look again.

02-05-2012, 11:08 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Perhaps they're made at different plants, and have slightly different coatings? I wonder if you could track that info down from the serial numbers.
02-05-2012, 11:28 AM   #6
Veteran Member

I have had (and sold) three Vivitar M-type 2x TCs, each with the same model number, each from obviously different plants. I've never seen a TC with a serial number so I don't think they can be tracked. Face it: If a TC isn't "name brand", there's almost no way to know who churned it out.
02-05-2012, 12:11 PM   #7
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter