Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-17-2012, 10:10 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
M42 105mm 2.8

Hi there ladies and gents. I have an issue with a lens I recently acquired. It was working fine earlier today I switched the aperture to get a sharper pic.....boy was it sharp at 5.6.

There is a little lever on the side that I slid down and the aperture returned to wide open again regardless of the aperture i set it on. At this point I was puzzled and removed the lens and pressed the little pin like deal on the back. and it returned to 5.6 after a while I started shooting some stuff with lighting and moved the aperture to f16 and while focusing to get a sharper image I moved that little.....lever again, at this point I shut down the cam and pressed the pin again and it made the sound like it was returning the aperture to normal but it stayed wide open........Any clues on what could be wrong?

I am sure that was a tough read for some of you guys but I have no idea how to really describe this incident. Any help will be greatly appreciated

02-17-2012, 11:04 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There are several variants of the M42 105mm, the one you have sounds like the Auto-Takumar 105 f/2.8. If so the little lever is (was) used to reset the aperture after taking a shot. The earlier Takumar variant was a preset lens with two aperture rings, you set one to the aperture you wanted, focused, and then turned the other aperture ring to close the aperture to take the shot. The Auto-Takumar allowed the camera to close the aperture just before taking a picture instead of you having to turn the ring manually, which allowed you to focus wide open and then take the shot. The little lever was then used to "re-cock" the lens for the next shot.