Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
02-19-2012, 03:45 PM   #1

Recomendations for an economical fast legacy prime lens for video

Hello,

I'm new to the world of dslr video, but am looking to add a few economical fast primes to use for video. What are some gems out there I should look for? Anything from 18mm to 85mm would be great - I'll be using this on an APSC sized camera (currently a K-5, but that will probably change...)

02-19-2012, 04:03 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
A buddy of mine does all his work on a 5d mark ii and an old 50mm f1.4 smc takumar. If you want fast and cheap, 50s are your best bet. For something a tad longer, you can pick up a modern samyang/vivitar/rokinon 85mm f1.4 for an alright price. On the wide end, you can find one of the older vivitar 24/28mm f2 or tamron adaptall 24/28mm lenses for decent prices
02-19-2012, 04:10 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by adpo Quote
A buddy of mine does all his work on a 5d mark ii and an old 50mm f1.4 smc takumar. If you want fast and cheap, 50s are your best bet. For something a tad longer, you can pick up a modern samyang/vivitar/rokinon 85mm f1.4 for an alright price. On the wide end, you can find one of the older vivitar 24/28mm f2 or tamron adaptall 24/28mm lenses for decent prices

Thanks, I'll look into those. Very much appreciated!
02-19-2012, 04:18 PM   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you don't want the adapter:
SMC Pentax-M 50mm F1.4 Reviews - M Prime Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

If you want to spend even less but still use auto aperture:
SMC Pentax-A 50mm F1.7 Reviews - A Prime Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)