Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-20-2012, 10:57 AM   #1

Differences in Lenses

So, I'm new to the DSLR and its been YEARS since I have dabbled in Photography. I'm just a bit confused as to the difference between pentax and bower lenses. Are there a certain brand that is best quality to use with the pentax SLR?

02-20-2012, 11:17 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Not really, no. Each of the major brands (Pentax, Sigma, Tamron) has its strengths, and some overlap. I'd start by thinking about what you want to do with the camera, choose a lens type which fits that goal (and budget), then start looking through the lens databases to see what people say about them.

There are other less-major brands available, too. That's all going to involve your research - welcome to the club!

PS. I thin Bower is a bargain-brand, though they may well have a couple strong offerings.
02-20-2012, 11:24 AM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks for the response! I was just a bit confused because I was kind of going through looking up the differences in what each lens was used for- and "Bower" lenses kept popping up. I'm starting to realize how rusty I am & how little I remember (last SLR owned over 7 years ago)...think maybe I should take a photography class to get a refresher. The only huge negative is I want to learn to use MY camera...seems like people are primarily using Canon or Nikons...
02-20-2012, 11:36 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by brandi0o Quote
.think maybe I should take a photography class to get a refresher.
Browse the forums here and ask question, you will learn at least as much as you would by taking a class.