Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-05-2008, 12:14 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Tamron lens dark?

Hello everybody

I have a Pentax K100D and the kit 18-55mm lens. I have been very happy with the camera/lens, so I decided to expand on it and buy a longer lens. Not wanting to spend too much, I bought a Tamron 70-300mm lens. It seemed to be working great, and just when I thought the Gods were smiling upon me, something went wrong. Or at least I think something did. After all, I'm new to photography, so maybe I just did something wrong.

The image in the viewfinder is very dark with the Tamron. The pictures are dark as well. Since it happened fairly suddenly, I knew that it wasn't me accidentally flipping the shutter speed waaaaaay up. Something happened without my input. The pictures are useless due to much underexposure and I can barely see though the viewfinder. The camera can't either, because it hunts constantly and rarely ever finds a focus point. I don't think this is the camera's fault, because the kit lens works fine. The viewfinder is nice and clear, the pictures are well exposed, and the focus is quick. Something wrong with the Tamron, methinks.

So, if any of you out there read this and know what I should do, please post. I'm at a loss.

01-05-2008, 12:37 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to Pentax Forums Jester,

My guess is that your shooting in Manual, and you have the aperture way up there. Otherwise known as f-stop.

If your shooting in Automatic then it's something else.

If it's a fully manual lens adjust the dial on it to a smaller number, and you'll see the image get lighter.
Or if it's manual with an A on it turn it to the A setting, and it'll act just like your 18-55mm lens.

You'll eventually learn how to adjust those settings to suite the photography your after.

Good luck and have fun.
01-05-2008, 12:43 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Check the mount and the aperture.