Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-27-2012, 05:10 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Extension tube question?

I was using my tokina 60-120mm lens to take some pictures of things I wanted to sell. I used the on camera flash because I was lazy but wanted to brighten things up. So, I was at 1/180s 400iso f11-f16. I wanted to reduce the minimum focus distance to get in a little closer so I broke out my extension tubes which I have never used before and put a section inbetween the camera and the lens and went back to taking pictures.
Now,on-camera flash aperture around f11-f16 1/180s and the first picture I took with the extension tubes was all white, totally blown out. I went to f22 and same thing. I closed the flash and sure enough it was under exposed but not horribly.
I've always heard that extension tubes add a stop or 2 (RioRico said they "eat light") so why would these pictures have been so much brighter after the extension tubes then before?

Here is a picture of the tubes if it helps

03-27-2012, 05:23 PM   #2
Veteran Member

what mode do you have your camera on?
I vaguely remember there is a mode that if it doesn't have contacts, then it shoots the lens wide-open. I dont have my camera near-by to check but it might be something to consider.
03-27-2012, 05:25 PM   #3

Hi Littledrawe,

Nice to see your post

I actually have exactly the same extension tubes, found second hands for few bucks recently, and also had trouble in making a proper macro picture.

I used a manual facus pentax 50mm /1.7 A lens for that, and I noticed that I can not set the aperture (manually on the lens or via the camera in Av mode) as required.

When mounting the tube on the lens, everything looks ok. Moving manually the small metallic "finger" (what's the name in english?) would trigger the diaphragm properly.