Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-01-2012, 07:28 AM   #1

New DA 15, is it problem or it is normal ?

Hi everyone.

Recently I bought DA 15. It is my second prime after DA 40. I took some pictures with DA 15 and it looks for me that it has some sort of "barrel distortion". I am new in photography and that is why I am asking you for help.
So my question is, is it problem with my DA 15 or it is lack of my knowledge
I have enabled profile corrections in Lightroom.

Thank you for your help.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 
04-01-2012, 07:37 AM   #2
Site Supporter

That is common with ultra wide angles. The DA15 has about 3% barrel distortion a little more than it should. Comprimises have to be made somewhere... If you shoot jpeg it can be corrected in camera or you can fix it in pp, if you shoot a lot of buildings/landscape and it bugs you another lens might be a bit better. The DA15 is not too pricey, very compact and well-made. It is very sharp and super super flare resistant but it does have a bit of distortion
04-01-2012, 07:47 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
just a tip, if you want the least distortion, your camera must be level with the centre of your subject. Your room shot looks like you were much higher, shooting downwards. Vertical shots will show less distortion in many shots
04-01-2012, 07:50 AM   #4
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Deimos Quote
The DA15 has about 3% barrel distortion a little more than it should.
Photozone and Optyczne/Lenstip measured 1.4% barrel distortion:

Pentax SMC-DA 15mm f/4 AL ED Limited - Review / Test Report - Analysis

http://www.lenstip.com/312.6-Lens_review-Pentax_smc_DA_15_mm_f_4_ED_AL_Limited__Distortion.html

04-01-2012, 07:56 AM   #5