Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-03-2012, 05:33 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Help narrowing down choices needed.

hey there everyone, hope all is well!
can't praise enough this forum and all the help one can get from here but i seem to be struggling a bit myself being a complete noob so hang in with me)
so i got a beautiful Pentax K-r as a gift from my loved one and i am real happy with it.
i've also got a great Pentax MX which i absolutely love.
of course i've got some lenses with it which are
-vivitar 28mm 2.8 close focus (love it)
-helios 44k-4 (love it)
-pentax f 80-200mm (again love it)
-18-55 DAL wich came with my new K-r
no complaints here but i feel all of my manual lenses are for the sitautions when i've got plenty of time to stop, think, compose and shoot.
which brought me to the question - what kind of lens (or two) would be best for me if i just want to be quicker with my actions. I mean i love manual focus but sometimes feel i just need to be a bit faster to capture the moment. i mainly shoot city, people, landscapes, flowers here and there. just an all-round user i suppose.although i barely use my 80-200 cause there wasn't much need for it yet. i have been considering DA 35, DA 40, sigma 17-50, sigma 17-70, sigma 10-20. and i just get to the point where i'm confused with all the options((
so i'd really appreciate any help from you guys.
thank you.

04-03-2012, 05:55 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
OK, you seem to have reached the understanding that using legacy lenses are for time, enjoyment etc, and that newer AF lenses give faster response and allow to some extent a more snapshot approach to photography, So far so good.

So the real question is where are you headed with your photography.