Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-03-2012, 10:11 AM   #1

Need advise for lens collection for K-5

Hi,

I have a K-x currently, with a Pentax 17-70/F4 SDM lens and the 55-300 DAL kit lens. I am not very satisfied with 17-70 lens, and wish I had kept the Sigma 17-50 EX HSM lens that I had tried before (though I'm wondering if I thought that was better because it was more expensive). I am considering to buy a K-5, and needed some advise on which lenses to have with it. I don't want to buy too many lenses, but would like to make sure I have enough to cover most shooting situations. Also, would like to avoid changes lenses very often when I'm walking about etc.

I am still a newbie with DSLR photography. I shoot generally family shots, kids in the home/outside, and vacations. I also like doing outdoor shots. i guess I just want to have more than the 'standard' vacation pictures. I would like to be able to take good pictures of my kids, even though they are not ready to pose!

My questions:

1. Should I keep the 17-70/F4, or get something like Tamron 17-50 ?
2. the Pentax 18-135 looks very attractive, because it looks small (compared to 17-70) and has larger range. How is its performance compared to 17-70, especially on a K-5?
3. I would like to buy one prime lens. Doesn't have to be macro. mostly for indoor shots(without flash), portraits etc. I read that DA50 , DA70 are good for portraits. any thoughts, or other suggestions. the DA 77 limited is too expensive!
4. should I keep the 55-300 DA L for longer range shooting? I don't do much of that, but its zooming and AF is terribly loud (as I found out during my kid's recital!)

I don't have much of a limit of budget, but would like to keep it reasonable, based on the my photography.