Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-12-2008, 06:22 PM   #1

What would you get?

Great forum -- been around for awhile and finally registered
I'm new to all this and I recently (Christmas) got a k10d with a tamron 28-75 and a pentax 50 1.4. I'd been saving for several months before Christmas so I could get more lens. I'm going on a Holy Land tour this November and I do a lot of nature hikes etc and spend a lot of time at the beach. Those of you who have been at this much longer that I -- What you would get if you have 1,500. I'd decided to get the 16-50mm (I have another thread on it) but it seems there are a lot of issues with that lens.
thanks for your suggestions.

01-12-2008, 08:15 PM   #2

Your Tamron is very sharp I assume. Your $ may be better spent on going wider than the da* 16-50. For the same $ you could have the DA 12-24 or 14/2.8 and DA21 LTD. IMO this would complement the excellent Tamron rather than try and replace it. The DA*50-135 and a teleconverter would be a nice fit to your kit too. Decisions decisions.

Matt
01-13-2008, 01:47 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Get a Sigma 10-20 or Pentax 12-24.
01-13-2008, 03:23 AM   #4
Veteran Member

With travel or hike, you would probably only need either Da 14mm f2.8 or Fa 31 ltd for landscape. Regardless day or night, you will get by fine.

If you like candids or wild life, then it would be another story. Tamron 28-75 is a good choice to start with. Later on, you will let the LBA be your inner GBS. You would not need our suggestions anymore.

01-13-2008, 06:24 AM   #5
Veteran Member

95% of my photography is landscape, whilst hiking around beaches & mountains & I bought the Sigma 17-70.