Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-17-2012, 05:59 PM   #1

Choices, choices....43mm ltd or 77mm ltd

I am heading off to Key West next month and with my tax return in the bank I got some extra cash to spend on a new lens to take with me.

I have been looking at threads, pictures, and still going back and forth on the limiteds. My setup so far is Sigma 24-60 2.8, kit lens, 70-300, and flash. Would love to jump on the limited train just can't get myself to pick one. Now after my trip I would definitely want this lens to keep me busy so I will give what my usual shooting I do. I love taking pictures of my family and friends, we are a crazy bunch and party often indoor and outdoor (weather permitting). Sports, I am a volunteer coach for cross country and currently track so for both those sports you can get pretty close (about 3 feet average). Landscape, not as often as the other two but get the urge once in awhile to go out (mainly just to get some new pictures on the wall besides portraits).

So any advice to which limited might be more suited for my style? I actually would be open to other possibilities but every time I see pictures that people take with their limiteds I just stare with how gorgeous so many of them turn out.

04-17-2012, 06:08 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Definitely the 43, IMO. The FA77 is my favorite Pentax lens, but I am a portrait shooter. For vacation pics, indor pics, and close-vantage sports like you describe, the FA43 will be awesome.
04-17-2012, 06:34 PM   #3
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have neither the FA3m nor FA77mm , but the FA31mm and a few more primes. First let me say that I fully endorse your decision to go for a FA Ltd. They are great lenses IMHO and the FA31mm Ltd is brilliant.

If you want to shoot sports and portraits, I would recommend the FA77mm Ltd. I think that it complement your own lenses and the focal length may be more useful.