Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-19-2012, 09:17 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
ND Filter

Hi everyone. I am thinking of buying an ND filter for my smc A f/1.4 lens that I use with my K100D. I have never used an ND filter before. Would like to know if anyone is using the same camera as I with an ND filter? What would be a recommended starting point.ie, how many stops? Thanks, Joe Please feel free to post any photos using K100d with ND filter.

04-19-2012, 09:43 PM   #2
Pentaxian

What sort of photos do you want to create using a ND filter?
04-19-2012, 09:54 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Camera is immaterial. The only things that matter are getting the right thread diameter and determining how many stops you want darken. And for that you need to know what kind of pictures you want to take and what the ambient light is going to be.

Cutting the sky down one stop for a landscape is going to take a very different setup than making a water fall have that milky dreamy look.
04-20-2012, 01:48 AM   #4
Veteran Member

as others said, you need to know what you want to achieve first eg: dream like water, cars on street in daylight, or even shooting portraits wide open on bright days with flash..

04-20-2012, 07:44 AM - 4 Likes   #5
Veteran Member

I'm sure you probably already know this but.... it just cuts the light level by a given amount. So.....

1) The ND filter will allow you to use a slower shutter speed for a given light condition than you would normally be able to. eg for blurring waterfalls etc.

2) Or on the flipside, the ND filter will let you use a larger (faster) aperture in bright conditons. eg for shallow DOF in bright conditions.

3) If you are using flash outdoors for fill light on something that is backlit the maximum shutter sync speed is 1/180 so you might have to reduce the light.