Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-20-2012, 04:55 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Which lens for levitation photography

Hi,

I'm a beginner and I will receive my first DSLR in a few days (K-r + 18-55 Kit)

My point is to learn different aspects of photography, and one of the first project I would like to do is "levitation photography"

I've been inspired by the blog of one asian photographer, who's work has been discussed in this thread

But I'm wondering what kind of lens(es) I should buy and use for this kind of photography.

I'm on a low budget, around 300-400 €, and cheaper would be even better.

Any advices ?

04-20-2012, 05:31 AM   #2
Veteran Member

You can use any lens you want, just depends on what kind of view you want.
04-20-2012, 06:15 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
anything - as long as it is f/2 or faster, especially for indoors.
04-20-2012, 08:37 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Original Poster
I don't find so many lenses at F2 or faster, especially in my price range.

(Most of them are F2.4 or even F2.8)

Which one should I choose between this two ?

- Pentax 50mm 1.4 smc FA

or

- Samyang 85mm f/1.4 IF MC Aspherical

04-20-2012, 08:49 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Actually, I'm pretty sure you could use the DA 35mm f2.4. You just need to get the shutter speed fast enough. I didn't read the article so I'm not exactly sure how she achieved the stop action, but I'm fairly certain you could go with that one. Besides, it is a very good lens in it's own right. I own both it and the MUCH more expensive FA 35mm f2.0 and I like the DA a lot better. Your other option is to rent a FA 43mm ltd, that would certainly work.

NaCl(hope that helps)H2O
04-20-2012, 08:54 AM   #6
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Jilune Quote
I don't find so many lenses at F2 or faster, especially in my price range.

(Most of them are F2.4 or even F2.8)