Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-21-2012, 03:02 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Helios 44M - How to tell if MC ?

Bonjour,

Just a quick and maybe silly question ... I read a post by stevebrot saying that some Helios 44M were MC ... how does one tell? Written on the lens, etc.? I just picked up one and it's great ... just curious and thanks for any input. Here's some images ...

Salut et merci encore, John le Frog

Last edited by Jean Poitiers; 04-22-2012 at 12:51 PM.
04-21-2012, 03:26 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I'm no expert but I have a 44-2 (not M) and my understanding was that the "M" means its mult-coated (such as 44M) where as my 44-2 is only single coated (or at least a less efficient coating anyway).

Its a fun lens to have - bokeh can be pretty interesting.
04-21-2012, 03:54 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I had always thought that the 'M' referenced the mount, M42 where as the 44K is a Pentax K mount version, but I guess that might not be the case either. As for multi-coating at least with the lenses intended for export (with Latin style lettering) that are multi-coated seem to all have 'MC' printed on the front of the lens. I have seen a couple of non-export lenses ( with cryillic lettering) that didn't have the 'MC' but appeared to have multi-coating at least on some elements. MC versions usually have bright, saturated pink, blue, magenta and orange reflections, while single coated lenses usually have very pale reflections when holding the lens up to the light. For what it's worth I have a single coated version that I prefer over my multi coated ones (as long as you don't shoot into the sun that is)
04-22-2012, 08:08 AM   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian