Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-23-2012, 06:12 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
How does one refrain?

Ok so here is the situation. My rational mind has been fighting a losing battle over this:

FA 31 LTD 1.8 (silver) for sale, $900 in unused condition. That's ALOT less than the $1399 that retailers seem to have it for in AUS.
I really really want it, Its a good price IMO. But key word is "want".
How can I justify it? as its worth more than the k-7 I own, or any lens I own for that matter.
And add to that I have a k 28mm f3.5, and (multiple) zooms to cover that FL. I like the 28mm FL as its quite versatile for the way I shoot, but I usually have a bit of a motto, "if it ain't broke don't fix it".

I realise I am no pro/advanced amateur so is it really something that would help me produce better images? or should I be buying with the future in mind? as I know these lenses will most likely stay at this price or go up.

My lens shopping list seems endless these days, between the FA LTD's and some wide angle Primes, fast fifties, something to fill the 200-400mm gap. so am I buying just for the sake of buying?

Then there is convincing my partner. I haven't even talked about this particular lens as a possibility with her as it was just fantasy and I never really thought I would get the chance to own it.That leaves me in the situation where there is no ground work or preparing her for such a purchase.

I know its probably a common thing amongst you LBA sufferers but, my oh my this is almost stressing me out! So any guidance would be much appreciated!

Last edited by Chaos_Realm; 04-23-2012 at 06:23 PM.
04-23-2012, 06:15 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Of course you can justify it, it's a "legendary" lens!

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)