Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-01-2012, 06:26 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Issue with Ultrawide lens with CPL filter

I am new to DA 12-24mm. And I also purchased HOYA HMC Pro-1 CPL filter. I took the picture at evening time. If the lens is pointing to 12 o'clock, then the sun is about 9. Is this a common issue?

05-01-2012, 06:46 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by ohce Quote
Is this a common issue?
Yep, that is a tornado forming, it happens all the time in the "Midwestern" part of the states but perhaps it is uncommon there??
05-01-2012, 07:03 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
I don't get it. I am not talking about the weather. The sky is clear. But with the CPL filter, you can see the middle of the image is darker than other portion. Without CPL, everything is fine. So I am asking if any 12-24 users have the same issue.

I have kit lens DA 18-55mm with CPL, no such issue whatsoever.

QuoteOriginally posted by littledrawe Quote
Yep, that is a tornado forming, it happens all the time in the "Midwestern" part of the states but perhaps it is uncommon there??
05-01-2012, 07:12 PM   #4
Site Supporter

That is a particularly severe case, but yes CPL filters do not play nice with ultra-wide lenses. I am sure someone here smarter than me can give you the technical explanation. I notice it on my DA*16-50 if I get too close to the wide end. You should use a CPL at 90 degrees to the sun for best results, most effect. I think that is what you did if understand you but the wide angle lens is causing the issue. Try the same shot at 12mm, 18mm, and 24mm to see what happens as you change the focal length.

05-01-2012, 07:15 PM   #5
Pentaxian