Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-02-2012, 01:03 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
DA-Ltds: A few questions to answer please...

Hi all.

I'm new to Pentax and am busy researching Pentax kit before I take the plunge with a K-5 after I off-load my Canon 7D and 24-70/2.8 L.

But before I dive in with Ltds, I'd very much like some help in answering a few questions from those who know:
  1. Are the DA-Ltds specifically designed for use on APS-C only? If I start a collection, and at some point in time down the road, Pentax have a FF body offering which I go for, will my money spent on DA-Ltds be wasted as they can't be used on a FF sensor? This will help me to decide to go for a FA-Ltd collection but will take much longer!!!
  2. Are the focal lengths specified a 35mm equivalent? Or are they actual focal lengths on APS-C? i.e. is the DA 21/3.2 Ltd actually 21mm on an APS-C K-5, or is it 31.5mm on the K-5 (i.e. 1.5x crop).
I ask these questions coming from a Canon crop body with "L" lens and have no experience in the "specifically design for crop" lens market.

Thanks in advance and thanks for the patience!

Roland

05-02-2012, 01:15 AM   #2
Veteran Member

First, Welcome on board !

QuoteOriginally posted by rashdown_online Quote
Are the DA-Ltds specifically designed for use on APS-C only? If I start a collection, and at some point in time down the road, Pentax have a FF body offering which I go for, will my money spent on DA-Ltds be wasted as they can't be used on a FF sensor? This will help me to decide to go for a FA-Ltd collection but will take much longer!!!
DA stand for DigitAl.
FA stand for Film

So DA ltd cannot be used on FF without heavy vignetting. There are 2 exception : the DA 40 and the DA 70. Both can be use on FF with almost no visible vignetting.

See here : https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/31629-da-lens-...ts-thread.html