Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-07-2012, 04:09 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Lens for low light landscaping.

I am a low light landscaper looking for advice on a better lens than the Sigma 10-20mm I currently use . The sigma with a range of gnd filters gives me good results but the distortion at 10 to 15 mm is a turn off ( yes I do fix it in PP) so I am thinking of the Da 15mm ltd .
My line up would then be DA15mm , DA35mm ltd and a Da 18-135mm , do you all think this would cover me or are the better alternatives.
I understand the restrictions of the prime and am still , if only just ,capable of the time honoured 2 footed zoom.
I am restricted expenditure wise as I am on a fixed retirement income , please dont treaten my marital stability!!
You can see some of my work here. Cheers Garry
Pentax K5 - a set on Flickr

05-07-2012, 04:19 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I don't think it'll be much of an issue transitioning from the 10-20mm to the 15mm. Panning is always an option if you need a wider view, and the increase in IQ should make up for whatever inconvenience the 2-footed zoom might cause

Unless I'm documenting an event, I almost always shoot with primes. They make you think about composition rather than just snap away.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

05-07-2012, 05:19 PM   #3
hcc
Pentaxian

Let me share a different perspective. It may not aswer your original query but I hope that the experience may help some.