Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-21-2012, 11:29 AM   #1

Pentax K-r + old K-mount zoom lens?

Ok, i'm a newbie with DSLRs, I now have my first ever SLR and it's a Pentax K-r. I could have checked this earlier prior to buying a lens, but being the spontaneous person I am, I bought it and thought about it later. I bought a Chinon 1:3.3 200mm lens.

It has a K-mount and it fits on my camera, but I set all the settings so it should work according to this guide here, but is the zoom supposed to work on it? I mean the ring that i normally turn to zoom in and out (similar to the one on my 18-55mm) isn't zooming, the main object in the photo stays the same size. It's just focusing when I turn the ring and I can't focus on anything on the screen closer to two meters. The smaller ring on it is for the aperture.

Does the lens not work at all on my camera or can I get it to work by changing the settings or something?

I feel quite stupid asking this.

05-21-2012, 11:52 AM   #2
Emperor and Senpai

THat's a prime lens, not a zoom, so what you're turning is the focus ring. A prime lens will only be one set length, in this case 200 mm.
05-21-2012, 12:04 PM   #3

Original Poster
What kind of photos would one use this kind of a prime lens for?
05-21-2012, 12:07 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by KRLove Quote
I feel quite stupid asking this.
Not really stupid, just you have not used a prime before. My wife did the same thing the first time I handed her a camera with a prime affixed. She had never used a camera without a zoom lens. Took her quite a while to understand as the concept was totally foreign. And took me far too long to understand that she really was confused, not pulling my leg. It wasn't my finest hour.......

05-21-2012, 12:09 PM   #5
Emperor and Senpai

It depends on what focal length. This one is one I would use for wildlife myself.
05-21-2012, 12:14 PM   #6
Site Supporter