Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-22-2012, 07:22 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
System Comparison

New poster, but I've been lurking awhile. I've noticed the roller coaster ride on kit lenses, and noticed loud cries that it may be time to change systems. A little background: I'm somewhat new to photography as a hobby, having bought my K-x a couple of years ago, but only started recently using it "seriously". I come to photography via being an artist by hobby (pencil and acrylics, mostly), and my focus is really on making art, not weddings, or portraits or anything someone would pay me for. I bought the KX based on reviews, and I really like it, but I have nothing but the kit lenses and an A50 F2. I found the PentaxForums a few months ago, and I am absolutely enamored with the 15mm limited controls my mind club. I find myself more drawn into landscapes, and alternative points of view, and trying to tell stories in photos. I think I would love wide primes and fisheyes. I want a macro. I've also been really wanting to take pictures at the beach and in the rain, so news of the K-30's weather resistance has me very interested. I'm starting to out-grow my intro kit, and started thinking about wanting to expand my tool kit. Since I'm an engineer by trade, I don't do anything without a plan, so I started carefully planning where I wanted to go with my kit. I definitely want that wide angle prime, at least 1 WR lens, and a collection of primes and zooms along the scale. The FA triplets, a couple of DA limiteds, a few zooms a macro and a fisheye looks to cover everything in the world. When I saw all of the commotion about lens pricing, I decided to model a couple of different kit choices between Pentax, Nikon, and Canon. I'm no fan of paying more than I have to for anything, so this seems to be the only way I can decide if it's better for me to change kits now before I have a bunch invested in my system. I'm not a Pent