Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-25-2012, 09:26 AM   #1

looking for teleconverter to match the Tamron SP AF 70-200mm f/2.8

Hi, I am thinking about buying the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 lens, but I am in need of a bigger zoom and therefore looking for a suitable teleconverter to match this lens. I am quite new to TC, I would be grateful for recommendations! Pros and cons to the TC would also be great!

06-25-2012, 09:37 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by larshalvar Quote
Hi, I am thinking about buying the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 lens, but I am in need of a bigger zoom and therefore looking for a suitable teleconverter to match this lens. I am quite new to TC, I would be grateful for recommendations! Pros and cons to the TC would also be great!
Hi!

I do have the Tamron 70-200 F2.8 too and the "matching" TC: Tamron-F 1.4X Pz-AF MC4.
This is supposedly the best match.

However, and that is a personal thing: TC's degrade IQ, not matter how you look at it.

If you are not too fussy regarding the end results, this is the best TC to match your lens.

JP
06-25-2012, 11:05 AM   #3
Pentaxian

I used the Vivitar 1.4x TC on the Tamron that I just traded and I got some great results. I am selling the TC in the Marketplace if you are interested in it.
06-25-2012, 11:40 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I have the promaster 1.7x, which I got for $25. I haven't tested it with this lens yet, but have heard good things. I could test it out for you and let you know. It worked well on the DA 55-300, with some contrast loss.

06-25-2012, 11:53 AM   #5
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
beware the Tamron F 1.4x Pz AF MC4, as it is not recommended for use with the 70-200/2,8. I have both and it does not allow the AF motor to disengage, so maual focusing drags the gears.

Tamron cust service says: