Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-29-2012, 12:55 PM   #1
Pentaxian

How accurate is the aperture reported by each manufacturer?

Not sure if this has been discussed before but I can't seem to find anything on PF so here goes.

I'm wondering if the aperture reported on each lens is consistance and accurate across brands, focal length and speed. etc. mainly the old MF lenses.

I guess my question is < is the f2.8 lens really a f2.8 or it's somewhere between f2.7 and F2.9 for example?>

What is a normal margin of error for those aperture numbers, if any?

The way I underdstand is the aperture is controlled by aperture blades but looking at the way the aperture blades function, while I'm no expert, I doubt it's very accurate even for the same lens of the same brand let alone across brands.

Can anyone shed some lights?

06-29-2012, 02:11 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There is the question of accuracy. That would be expected to vary between brands and even between copies of a particular lens. There is also variation (imprecision) between exposures. The matter of accuracy used to be one of the big arguments in favor of stop-down metering back-in-the-day when the Pentax Spotmatic was a popular tool. Once open-aperture metering became the standard, people pretty much decided that issue was not particularly important.

Steve
06-29-2012, 04:39 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter