Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
06-30-2012, 01:50 PM - 1 Like   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Lens Experience Israel Trip: DA 18-135 & Sigma 10-20

I recently got back from 24 days in Israel. I'm a teacher at a seminary, so a significant part of my trip was getting pictures of the archaeological and biblical sites. I also will be having some of my pictures licensed by a Bible software company (BibleWorks) to be incorporated in the program and linked with biblical texts. I was also getting some instruction on Photography and Archaeology that would require some macro work. If I get a chance, I'll try to write up something in the Beginners Forum about some general experiences w/ photographing, but I thought I would share some specific lens experiences here. I ended up taking 3200+ shots.

I have a K-x, and I brought the following lenses with me:
  • Pentax DA 18-135 F3.5-5.6 - This was my walkaround and general purpose lens.
  • Sigma 10-20 F4-5.6 - UWA
  • Pentax M 50 F1.7 - This is my fastest lens for the possibility of dark situations.
  • Pentax DA L 55-300 F4-5.8 - My telephoto
  • Sigma 90 F2.8 Macro - This was going to be used for archaeological close-ups.
Observations:
  • I really enjoyed using the DA 18-135, and I am very pleased with the results. I was in a lot of dusty environments, so the WR provided some security. (My K-x, on the other hand...) I was able to use this lens for 80% of the pics. The pic of Masada below is just a typical example. Note that lighting was rather challenging most of the time because of the harsh light and strong contrasts. The focal length was ideal. I rarely needed something longer, especially because it was so hazy most of the time, and it was difficult to have clear views of distant objects.