Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-30-2012, 10:39 PM   #1

HELP! Super Zoom Tips appreciated.

Camera Used Pentax K-x
Lens in discussion Tamron AF 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 (IF) MACRO Aspherical LD XR Di2
Use: Disney Trips as an all encompassing lens. I love the convenience of one lens that goes from wide angle to zoom. The $300 price seemed fair.

PLEASE CONTRIBUTE TIPS!
I purchased a superzoom lens.
No. Its not a 1200.00 lens. But it is exactly what I want. I just HATE the clarity and focus. I have no issues getting decent pictures, but I cant seem to get ANY spectacular pictures. Most lack the crystal clear details Im after. I long for pictures that are jaw dropping. Insects that look alive on my desktop. Water that looks wet. Not just basic pictures. Part of me regrets buying this lens but Im stuck with it, and its range is exactly what I need. So Id love some tips to make the pictures turn out better.
Im not a complete novice, but Im certainly not a pro. I have quite a few lenses but this most recent addition to my collection is driving me crazy. I get blur and lackluster detail.

Id also love to see some pictures taken from this same lens if anyone has one and would care to contribute.

As far as my pictures.. What all could I be doing wrong and how could I improve the pictures?

06-30-2012, 10:43 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Samples with EXIF will get you useful advice instead of guesses.

Otherwise - remove any filters, find the lens sweet spot aperture for each focal setting, make sure shutter speed is adequate to avoid motion blur.

Much magic can be achieved in post processing as well.

It's been a while since I owned that lens but it didn't seem too bad. The 18-250 variant has a much better rating.

NOT MY PHOTO - just did a search on Flickr for Tamron 18-200

Last edited by crewl1; 06-30-2012 at 10:50 PM.
06-30-2012, 10:50 PM   #3
hcc
Pentaxian