Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-06-2012, 11:46 PM   #1

Pleased with my Little Bigma

I've just received my new Sigma 120-400mm APO this morning and put it to a few checks.

Very pleased! I made about 80 hand held shots and not one of them is unsharp from lens shake!
I shot at 400ISO and around 1/500 to 1/1000 sec, but even so, the K-5's image stabilisation when
shooting at up to 600mm (eq) is fantastic.

I was also looking for any evidence of decentering (I'm no lens expert but I was worried about
uneven sharpness from edge to edge.) Sigma's QC reputation had me a bit worried but I needn't
have been - it looks great at both edges.

This is a revelation. I used film and Nikon back in the 80s and sharpness was always a throw of the dice.
Now it's so easy it's a sure thing. Very pleased.

And the colour! Film used to be hit or miss. Now it just looks gorgeous straight off the card.
And no worry about running out of film - just keep shooting, for no added cost. Wow.

Last edited by PCPete; 07-06-2012 at 11:49 PM. Reason: Added some text.
07-07-2012, 04:03 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by PCPete Quote
Sigma's QC reputation had me a bit worried but I needn't
have been - it looks great at both edges.
Congratulations on your new lens. It should be a lot of fun. I've previously owned a Sigma 70-300mm, 170-500mm, and 150-500mm, and I currently own the 50-150mm f/2.8 and 100-300mm f/4, and I've been very satisfied with all of my Sigma telephotos in terms of how they perform for the price.

Your comment makes me think...I've heard a lot more people worrying about Sigma's QC reputation than people complaining about an actual problem with their Sigma lenses. Kind of strange.