Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-29-2012, 08:40 PM   #1

FA-31 f/1.8 Limited

Had my first serious outing with with FA-31 on my K-5. The optics are superb (and I am currently using a Marumi SHG Protection filter...to protect my investment...and this lens is surely and investment), I mean astounding. I'm not a pro, indeed, I'm still a newbie compared to many on this forum. The K-5 is my first really serious camera (it's awesome) and I'm still riding the it's learning curve. Back to the FA-31....the thing is built like a tank...a bit on heavy side for street shooting, but the focal length and angle of view are near the traditional "standard lens." Whatever this lens renders, it renders beautifully, provided of course that my manipulation of the K-5's setting haven't reduced it's IQ to that of a mere mortal lens from one of the "big 2" manufacturers. So, yes I think the lens is awesome, but I need to advice on getting the most out of it. Sometimes I'm able to get great selective focus and bokeh and sometimes not, even at the same f/stop. Why? Am I expecting this lens to perform in ways that a "standard" lens is not meant to? Is it an AF issue or could the lens be suffering from front or back focus? Should I be setting the AF to use only the center focus point? Sorry for rambling, but if anyone can school me on this lens....I'd appreciate it (also trying to sort the same things out with the FA-77 LTD and FA-43 LTD). Thanks!!

07-29-2012, 08:48 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
As well as aperture, depth of field also depends on distance from the subject. So getting closer to your subject with any lens will produce a more out of focus background.
07-29-2012, 08:56 PM   #3
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You are rightt, the FA31mm is a awesome lens. For me, the key is the higher keeper rate with the FA31mm than with my other lenses.