Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-28-2008, 11:15 AM   #1

Trap focus, K10d, s-m-c TAKUMAR F1.4

First of all, let me say that I'm new to the Pentax world although I've been using Canon, Nikon and recently Panasonic for over 40 years I had all my gear stolen recently so when It came time to replace it, I looked very carefully at all the current DSLR's. I decided on the Pentax K10D, and, having used it for a month now, I am very impressed. I bought it with an 18-250 Pentax lens which works very well, particularly with the camera set to "Program line".

However, I recently got a Super-Multi-Coated TAKUMAR 50mm F1.4 lens and a Pentax screw mount converter. First of all let me say that the lens itself is wonderful, absolutely wonderful. And I was quite amazed at how well the old screw mount lens worked with the new high tech digital camera. Kudos to Pentax for a job well done.

However, I have read about the "Trap focus" functionality but I have been unable to get it to work. I have searched the forums but I'm still not sure why it does not work. Is it even supposed to work with this lens? If so, can someone please tell me what I might be doing wrong.

Thanks,

Mike

01-28-2008, 11:26 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Switch the focus mode to AF.S

Depress shutter button fully, rotate focus ring until shutter releases.

The shutter will only release when it has focus confirmation.
01-28-2008, 11:28 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
For trap focus to work, you need to have teh shutter release interlocked with focus indication, I, You need to be in AF-S (i think) but the lens in manual focus, or a MF lens

Prefocus on a spot which youo want for the ohbject to be in sharp focus

Then you really need a cable release that can hold the shutter pressed for long periods. The pentax one can do this, and there are threads on this forum of making one yourself.