Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-12-2012, 10:30 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Opinions on Sigma 50-500 non OS version

Hi guys,

A friend's friend is selling his Sigma 50-500 non OS lens as he is jumping ship to canon.

I STF and can only find one relevant thread that talks about a non OS version of this lens.

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/184752-older-s...r-version.html

I am interested to get this lens for birding....and would like to ask if it is worthwhile for me to look into this further, considering that the lens is showing signs of use (but does not look too bad really)....a bit of lens creep but not too serious....

What do you guys think? Is this a good lens to get?

Thanks
raider

08-13-2012, 01:24 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I have been using the old non-OS, non-HSM version for a couple of years now. It is build like a tank and a bite of paint loss or some exterior scratches won't do any harm to its workings. Optically it is a fine lens, considering the zoom range. At the long end it might not be up to the standards of a long tele prime lens - but in the Pentax portfolio there simply isn't any competitive lens. One thing you should keep in mind, if you did not use lenses that long already: it takes some practicing, before you will achieve really sharp images handheld. I know, the 50-500 is often used handheld, but I guess, that those reports about softness and reduced sharpness at the 500 mm end, can be attributed to a large extend to users, who cannot handhold the 500mm shake free. Even with in-camera SR + a short 1/1000s exposure time, you will often have slightly blurred images with such a long fl.